My Top 10 Albums

I am the kind of person who doesn’t listen to songs by choosing them one by one or making a playlist, I listen to them by albums. It’s time to share my music taste. I have a bunch of albums in my laptop and smartphone. I will rank my favorite albums of all time.

I can claim these albums as the best among the bunch I listen to. I do not claim them as the best in the music industry. This ranking is only a recommendation for you.

 

10. In the Lonely Hour (2014) by Sam Smith

81KQP4RRKHL._SL1500_

In the Lonely Hour by Sam Smith. Who doesn’t love Sam Smith? I used to listen to this album a lot when I was studying far away from home that I had to blast it in my smartphone because of its ‘right in the feels’ lyrics. Besides, Smith has a beautiful voice that no one can deny. Aside from its lyrics, this album is so cohesive that it gives you one sound and remember the places you’ve been to while listening to this album.

9. ARTPOP (2013) by Lady Gaga

lady_gaga_artpop_cover__2170px__by_gigy1996-d6zgmp3

ARTPOP by Lady Gaga is probably the least critically acclaimed Lady Gaga album, but who cares? Maybe it is not as good as Born This Way or The Fame. However, this album can bring you to another planet.

8. Blue Neighborhood (2015) by Troye Sivan

troyesivan

Blue Neighborhood by Troye Sivan. He is the new generation of music.

 

7. Speak Now (2010) by Taylor Swift

00035523

Speak Now  by Taylor Swift. This is the album that everybody can relate to. I love this album because it is so Taylor Swift. It was a self written album so many of her fans, including me, love this because aside from being lyrically genius, it has the sound of Nathan Chapman and Taylor Swift together. It should have at least nominated for Album of the Year.

 

6. Me. I Am Mariah: The Elusive Chanteuse (2014) by Mariah Carey

81fsqvkgvul-sl1500-1401468172

Me. I Am Mariah The Elusive Chanteuse by Mariah Carey. This is one of the most cohesive album of Mariah Carey. It wasn’t a hit since it wasn’t promoted well. It could have been her third prime but unfortunately, the thing was bubblegum pop in this year. Just like what she said and I quote “I don’t usually follow the trend because that’s not what fun looks like in making music.”. There maybe unnecessary melisma, runs and words put into the songs but it has been a long time since she showcased her 5 octave voice.

5. 1989 (2014) by Taylor Swift

Taylor-Swift-1989-Deluxe-2014-1200x1200

1989 by Taylor Swift. This is probably the most iconic album of 2014, its performance to charts, sales and views is really impressive. Commercial performance aside, this album has the most impressive production. Aside from being lyrical wise, this album is a sick beat. Every track deserves the radio plays and single promotions.

 

4. X (2014) by Ed Sheeran

Ed-Sheeran-x-2014-1200x1200

X by Ed Sheeran. It is not as cohesive as + album but this album really showcased Ed Sheeran’s talent in songwriting.

 

3. Daydream (1995) by Mariah Carey

71rR9Ws0GfL._SL1500_

Daydream by Mariah Carey. This is probably the best album of Mariah in the 90’s. “Always Be My Baby” and “One Sweet Day” are gems and classics of Mariah. The vocals in this album are insane since it is one of the best vocal era for Mariah.

2. Red (2012) by Taylor Swift

slide_258546_1671437_free

Red by Taylor Swift. It’s a rollercoaster album because it doesn’t have one sound and the track listing is so brilliant. Unfortunately, being not cohesive album became its downside for Album of the Year so it didn’t win. However, who are music critics to declare our music taste? Best Taylor Swift album in my opnion.

1. The Emancipation of Mimi (2005) by Mariah Carey

emancipation_large

The Emancipation of Mimi by Mariah Carey. Best.Mariah.Carey.Album.Of.All.Time. Most.Iconic.Comeback.Album.Of.All.Time. Vocals.Sound.Lyrics.Influence.Vocals.And.Vocals.

Here are the albums that failed to make into my Top 10:

  • E=MC^2 by Mariah Carey
  • EMOTION by Carly Rae Jepsen
  • + by Ed Sheeran
  • Fearless by Taylor Swift
  • Crybaby by Melanie Martinez
  • To Pimp a Butterfly by Kendrick Lamar
  • Beauty Behind The Madness by The Weeknd
  • Mind of Mine by Zayn Malik
  • Purpose by Justin Bieber
  • Strange Clouds by B.o.B

Leave a comment